Welcome To


A virtual scavenger hunt through twenty-two fictional dystopias.

by Megan Thomason

Meet The Second Chance Institute (SCI): Earth’s benevolent non-profit by day, Thera’s totalitarian regime by night. Their motto: Because Everyone Deserves a Second Chance at Life(TM). Reality: the SCI subjects Second Chancers to strict controls and politically motivated science experiments like Cleaving–forced lifetime union between two people who have sex. Punishment for disobeying SCI edicts? Immediate Exile or death.

Meet Kira Donovan. Fiercely loyal, overly optimistic, and ensnared by the promise of a full-ride college scholarship, Kira signs the SCI Recruit contract to escape memories of a tragedy that left her boyfriend and friends dead.

Meet Blake Sundry. Bitter about being raised in Exile and his mother’s death, Blake’s been trained to infiltrate and destroy the SCI. Current barrier to success? His Recruit partner–Miss Goody Two Shoes Kira Donovan.

Meet Ethan Darcton. Born with a defective heart and resulting inferiority complex, Ethan’s forced to do his SCI elite family’s bidding. Cleave-worthy Kira Donovan catches his eye, but the presiding powers give defect-free Blake Sundry first dibs.

Full of competing agendas, romantic entanglements, humor, twists and turns, daynight is an award-winning, bestselling novel and first in the daynight series.


What is the motto of the Second Chance Institute?

Go to STOP 10


Until the end of The Hunt, you can enter to win daynight swag packs (signed copy of daynight or arbitrate, a bag, pen/stylus combo, and more) by signing up for product release notifications on this site (bottom of the right hand column-labeled New Release Notifications) and then emailing me at with the subject line ENTER FOR DAYNIGHT SWAG PACK. You can also enter by liking the page and commenting on the Hunt post there. International winners will receive an Amazon gift card in lieu of the swag pack. I will also mail out a to-be-determined number of pen/stylus combos and signed bookmarks. The prizes will go out in August…my family is in the middle of a move this week, so bear with me :).

About The Hunt:


A virtual scavenger hunt through twenty-two fictional dystopias.

Friday, July 18 at 6:00pm (EST) – Sunday, July 20 at 6:00pm (EST).

June 10, 2014. For Immediate Release–THE HUNT FOR TOMORROW is an on-line scavenger hunt that will send participants on a virtual odyssey through twenty-two dystopian futures in search of the answers they need to win. The Hunt is on for one weekend only, although there is no time-limit for completing the course.

Intrepid scavengers must solve clues at each of the dystopian author stops as they progress through the course. The twenty-two participating indie authors all have books included in three dystopian boxed sets – What Tomorrow May Bring, A Taste of Tomorrow, and Shattered Worlds.

“Indie publishing is often a solitary experience. All of these authors coming together to work toward a common goal is an extraordinary thing,” said author Tony Bertauski, curator of What Tomorrow May Bring. “The enthusiasm for an engaging, communal effort like this scavenger hunt shows the willingness of indie authors to share their fans, and that can only be a good thing for readers.”


In a rare instance of collaborative story-telling, nineteen of the authors will write a progressive short story over nineteen days. Each author will have one day to write between 500-1000 words before passing the story on to the next author to create a collective vision of a new, dark future. The winner of The Hunt will name characters and contribute elements to create this dystopian world, and all participants in The Hunt will receive an advance copy of the story for an exclusive period before it is made available as a free download.

Those who complete the scavenger hunt will be entered into a random draw, and for each correct answer collected along the way they will receive an additional chance to win. Along with the naming opportunity, the Grand Prize also includes a signed copy of each author’s book that is included in the boxed sets, an ebook of all the boxed sets, and the first copy of the progressive story they themselves inspired. During The Hunt, the authors will offer up their own exclusive material, sneak peeks, contests, and giveaways at their individual stops on The Hunt, giving all scavengers multiple chances to win bonus prizes.

The indie authors participating in The Hunt include best-selling, award-winning and emerging writers from the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. While their dystopian tales might be bleak, cynical, or despairing visions of the future, they ultimately carry messages of hope.

THE HUNT FOR TOMORROW is the outcome of three separate group endeavors by these independent authors. By jointly marketing their books in curated boxed sets, they are able to successfully cross-promote their work and spike sales in a challenging and competitive marketplace. With the boxed sets, the scavenger hunt, and the progressively written short story, these dystopian authors are staking out their own collaborative utopia in the brave new world of indie publishing.

THE HUNT FOR TOMORROW begins at on Friday, July 18 at 6:00pm (EST) and ends on Sunday, July 20 at 6:00pm (EST). The Hunt is open to scavengers around the world; there is no cost to enter and one grand prize winner will be selected at random from all eligible entries.

Shining Light on a Dark Future

Susan Kaye Quinn*
David Estes
Jenni Merritt
Megan Thomason
Samantha Durante
Tony Bertauski
Cary Caffrey
David J Normoyle
Joeseph Turkot
Shelbi Wescott
Deborah Rix
Jason Gurley*
Chris Ward
Saul Tanpepper
TW Piperbrook
Deirdre Gould
David Wright
Elle Casey**
Katie French
Zoe Cannon*
Scott Cramer
Shalini Boland
Sarah Dalton

*Hunt only, not contributing to progressive short story
**Short story only, not participating in Hunt.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>